My Top 10 Quick Happiness Fixes

Seemingly, I have developed a peculiar way to deal with the feelings of anger, panic, anxiety, frustration, unfairness, blame or just pity for myself. First, I feed myself with highly charged negative thoughts to heighten my emotions until I tear up and eventually start  bawling. Then I eat. And then I cry some more, passionately continuing an angry inner-dialogue. Ultimately I get tired of that and let it go.

Today I fell to the same pattern again, except this time,  after stuffing myself with cookies, I had … a clarifying moment. An understanding, that it is me who is creating this drama and that no one else is suffering from it but myself, washed through me and I decided to cut it off. Yet the tricky part is that the anger I generated, just like a snowball, was already rolling downhill and continued to acquire more and more momentum. To allow momentum to pass, I simply breathed-in and out several times and for a moment attempted to focus on the present moment.

block_1

Then I started to think about the Quick Happiness Fixes that usually cheer me up. These are the ones that work for me:

  1. Treating myself with a dessert or a sweet latte drink from a coffee shop.
  2. Watching bloopers of my favorite TV comedy shows (“Friends” especially).
  3. Listening to a stand-up special.
  4. Putting THAT song on.
  5. Taking a long hot shower.
  6. Talking myself down by reminding myself of how fantastic my life is, how much I’m taking it for granted, how grateful I should be instead and how minuscule my first world problems are.
  7. Taking time off from everything and everyone, and just running off to some place where no one knows me.
  8. Checking some things off my to-do list.
  9. Creating something.
  10. Taking attention from myself by being kind to someone else.

According to others, wandering in nature, exercising or meeting up with friends come a long way in cooling a boiling mind down. It would be super interesting and useful to hear what works for you… ?

With much relief,

Pupa

Leave a Reply

